RSS Feed

Learning to Fly.

Posted on

LearningtoFly

I was just barely 19 years old when I discovered I was going to be a Mother.
Not just any Mother, but yours.
I was nervous, scared, anxious, excited, and completely in love all at once.
I didn’t yet know who I was, what I wanted, or where I was going in this crazy world.
I didn’t know how to love myself, I was careless, wild, and free.
But then,
I heard your heart beat for the first time.
I felt you kick, squirm, hiccup.
I know that you can’t grow money on trees, but did you know that you can grow LOVE?
Because I did, in 37 weeks.
You must have known I needed you, you came to me early, and you stole my heart.
You have saved me, and you have shaped me.
I became a woman FOR you, and because of you.
You have believed I can do anything I dream of, I will always believe that for you.
I have protected you, I have learned to protect myself.
I have loved you, I have learned to love myself.
I am still growing, right along side you, though I truly wish you wouldn’t so quickly.
You gave me my wings the first day I held you, and I am still just learning to fly.

2 responses »

  1. I’m crying!!! That was so beautiful Britt! He is so lucky to have a mama like you and I’m so happy to be a part of your journey. Gah, I can’t believe I still haven’t met him!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

