RSS Feed

…And then there was you.

Posted on

66dbae183bc130b32d514379be2a23fb

When I finally left a controlling/abusive 5 year relationship, I was a confused mess to put it lightly.  I didn’t believe in “love” anymore. I didn’t value myself, in fact I didn’t even know WHO “myself” was.  I was completely afraid of emotions, feelings, anything to do with making myself vulnerable.  I built walls around me, especially when it came to men.

And then there was YOU.

Tall, handsome, professional smart-ass, hilarious, sometimes clumsy, loving, YOU.

You supported my roller-coaster emotions. The days when I was stubborn and closed-off and wanted to be left alone; you called me out on it. You made me LAUGH again, feel things I had never felt before, you made me feel safe, protected, and loved. You love my son like he is your own, always teaching, guiding, and sharing with him. You quickly became my best friend, it was never awkward or “new and nerve-wracking” with you; it was like we had loved each other forever.

I can’t tell you the exact single moment I knew that I was completely in love with you. I think it was a lot of little moments all rolled into one. Slow dancing with you to one of my favorite country songs, the day you brought Jett his first basketball and watching you teach him to dribble and shoot, the night you carried me to bed after I consumed too much Fireball and had a little emotional meltdown (and you slept next to me the whole night), the way you kissed my forehead after our first date, the way you comforted me when I had a bad anxiety attack and was incredibly embarrassed, the day you brought home gluten-free ravioli and giant sunflowers when I found out I was no longer able to eat some of my favorite foods, the way you love to talk about the future and our goals, the way you laugh when I lip-sync Eagles and Elton John songs, the way we laugh together constantly, the way we finish each others sentences…and recite the same exact words ALL. THE. TIME, the love notes and fresh coffee you leave me every morning, the way you show emotion and compassion for others, the way you love to hold my hand, the way you sincerely listen to my dreams, ideas, and support them whole-heartedly, the way you have helped me love myself and realize my potential, the way you have loved me and my son- fiercely but gently and with everything you have.

My losses, pain, and rough patches in my life led me down a path directly to you, and I am forever grateful.  Thank you for changing my life in so many ways, being my #1 fan, and making me a believer in love.

I love you, I GET you, and I will always support you in anything and everything you believe in.

50 responses »

  1. This is the sweetest thing I have read today. I love the honesty behind it. I am happy you have your “one”.

    Reply
  2. Love this! I am soo happy for you! You and I have gone through a lot of similar situation in life and it brings me joy to know that we are now blessed ❤ you deserve it mama!

    Reply
    • thank you so much Netty! I am so glad to see you happy as well, and the best part about it- we were able to re-connect as two stronger and more compassionate women and become friends! I’m so grateful for your support xxo

      Reply
  3. I’m glad you found someone like that. I had a problem with walls from my childhood, but I’ve learned to let them down after being around some great people.

    Reply
  4. Very grateful that you have someone wonderful and uplifting in your life.

    Reply
  5. This is so beautiful. It shows that good things can happen, even when you feel like they never will. Congrats to you both on finding the love of your life.

    Reply
  6. Jeanne Decamara

    I will be forever grateful for the love and support Keith has shown you and my Jett and how he makes you laugh and smile, I had not seen that for years…… xoxo

    Reply
  7. Zoe Diaz-McLeese

    This was so beautiful! So glad that you were able to find your one. 🙂 He sounds wonderful, but the most important thing is that he brings out the best in you, and makes you feel whole again. ❤

    Reply
  8. Seriously, I have the same life story! Isn’t it amazing to meet the right guy after so much time with the wrong?

    Reply
  9. It’s so great that you found someone who treats you right. And I’m so glad you got out of the bad relationship!

    Reply
  10. This is adorable! So happy you were able to find your happy ending! = ]

    Reply
  11. This is so sweet! I loved reading this. Love changes everything, and the people who haven’t fallen in love before just don’t understand it. This has nothing to do with me, and I’m sitting at my computer so giddy and happy for you. I love love, and everyone deserves to fall head over heels in love!

    Reply
  12. I love this so much 🙂

    Reply
  13. My story is similar to yours, in a different way if that even makes sense. So glad we both ended up finding love all over again.

    Reply
  14. Chris Hunsicker

    Awww… =) That’s a sweet letter Britt.. You should print that one out and slip it in his birthday card.
    Im so very happy for you Britt.
    There is much love behind those words and its a beautiful thing=)

    Reply
  15. This is a great piece of writing. I can feel the love.

    Reply
  16. Congrats on finding TRUE love. Love should never ever hurt. Xo

    Reply
  17. This is beautiful! I am so glad you found someone that understands and loves you!

    Reply
  18. What a beautiful post! True love at it’s finest.

    Reply
  19. This is so sweet! I’m so glad you found someone you love and someone who loves you back. 🙂

    Reply
  20. So honest. It is always tough to pick yourself up when you’re so far down. I’m glad to hear that you have and that you’ve found someone who is so worth it.

    Reply
  21. That is amazingly sweet! I’m so glad you got out of the controlling/abusive relationship and found your way into a beautiful, blessed and HAPPY one! ❤ Much love to the both of you! ❤

    Reply
  22. This is so beautiful and sweet! I am so glad that you found your true love 🙂

    Reply
  23. Beautiful ♥ Thank you for sharing something so personal. True love is a blessing!

    Reply
  24. Awww, just shed a beautiful tear. I love reading things like these, I can relate. Such men are hard to find. Gob bless you both and your boy

    Reply
  25. This is wonderful. I loved reading it. You can tell how grateful you are for him. Congratulations on finding the one!

    Reply
  26. this is such a sweet and beautiful post! sounds like you’re happy 🙂

    Reply
  27. Keith Sirignano

    It takes two to create a great relationship. You need to make sure you give yourself credit for all the challenges you have overcome. Everyone needs help once in a while, and with this site it sure looks like everyone here has support!! We are all going to fall, stumble and make mistakes. It is how we bounce back from them and grow as a person that really matters. I love you so very much, along with Jettster. May all of your dreams become a reality babe. ❤

    Reply
  28. Aww this was so sweet. I love this!

    Reply
  29. This is so sweet! It’s so wonderful that you’ve come this far and found such happiness!

    Reply
  30. Sweetest thing I’ve read today. Thanks for such a wonderful and heartfelt post!

    Reply
  31. I am so glad you find your Other Half after being in an abusive relationship. Such a great thing!

    Reply
  32. Aw, this was such a sweet post. How special to have found such a wonderful partner.

    Reply
  33. This post gushes sweetness. I LOVE it!

    Reply
  34. aww i loved reading this. 🙂 made me smile!! that’s kind of how i felt before i met my husband.. never really trusted guys or wanted to be in another relationship.

    Reply
  35. Such a beautiful thing to share and the video at the end is just as lovely 🙂

    Reply
  36. What a sweet note. The video is so sweet too. I love the quote at the beginning.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

