RSS Feed

Reflections.

Posted on

How do you see yourself? Not just physically, but spiritually, emotionally, as an individual? Put away the make up, designer clothes, strip yourself of others opinions of you and the voices in your head that try and tell you that you’re not good enough, not smart enough, not driven enough. WHO exactly are you at the core of your heart and soul?

Are you a giver? A dreamer? A teacher? A spiritual guide? A leader? A follower? A cheerleader for others?

This is not your profession, your skills, or your accomplishments, this is much deeper than that.

You may be a TEACHER in a classroom, but your heart and soul thrive by guiding others- you are teaching them along the way, but you know that you have to do so much more than what’s written in a textbook. Do you see the difference there?Β  We all have a calling, a purpose, a certain set of skills, yet some of us are afraid to use them. We tend to focus so often on what others will think of us and how many people will approve of our choices, but in the end we aren’t hurting them by staying on the sidelines: we are only hurting ourselves by not realizing and utilizing our potential.

There is one very important lesson I have learned entirely on my own over the years and through experiencing self-doubt, criticism, and lack of faith & approval from others:

Not everyone can see WHO you are, and even if they can: not everyone will value it.

Be who you are and do what feels right and let go of the rest. You cannot control others opinions about you, and you never will be able to. I am naturally a people-pleaser and have a really hard time when someone doesn’t “like” me or doesn’t want to befriend me. I am a strong woman, but I carry a sensitive heart. I have had to learn to allow myself to FEEL disapproval, but not let it devalue my reflection.

You have to love yourself- first, and fiercely. Treat your self the way you would want others to treat you;Β  “Be careful what you tell yourself, because you are always listening.”

β™₯ Britt

45 responses »

  1. Beautiful! I feel that I’m a kind-hearted soul beneath everything because I am always caring about everything around me! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  2. This is so great. It is so hard to forget yourself in the busyness of life!

    Reply
  3. I absolutely needed to read that. It’s easy to get caught up in “what you do” but not pay attention to all that you are doing.

    Reply
  4. As a person I believe I’m a listener, and a (very) patient person. I think it all comes with experience throughout life. At one point I was neither of those, but due to friends, occurances, and general life happenings – this is who I’ve become, and I like that about myself πŸ™‚

    Reply
    • You sound like a wonderful person and being a listener is very important, the world could use more selfless people like yourself who are willing to listen to others! Xxo

      Reply
  5. Thank you for these words of encouragement. I’m a definite people person, but I totally agree some people will never ‘understand’ you and others will embrace you. I do always try and treat others the way I want to be treated, it really is true that you attract the vibes you give out.

    Katie ❀

    Reply
  6. Aw this was simply lovely! I am a huge dreamer and huge giver. I feel it to be so important for us to create our own destinies and do what we sincerely want for a living and to pay it forward to others. Very inspiring! ^_^

    Reply
    • Thank you so much! Those are very kind words, as that is EXACTLY what I’ve set out to do- inspire others and show people how far you truly can go regardless of your history and past. Thank you for reading! xox

      Reply
  7. beautiful post! i am a dreamer for sure! i love this world although lots of it don’t make sense to me haha!

    Reply
  8. Love this post – this year has been extremely difficult for me. But you’re right – I had to trust in myself and let the others who didn’t appreciate who I was fall to the side. It’s the only way to keep sane.

    Reply
    • Kendall I love that I can feel how much you really read and appreciated this post. Thank you so much for reading, and you’re absolutely right with everything you said. ❀

      Reply
  9. I love that you mention loving yourself first. I think this is so important to love and respect for yourself and then let love out into the world.

    Reply
    • I sbsolutelu agree! ❀ if we can't love ourselves we can't love others like they deserve. That's truly what I believe.

      Reply
      • Chris Hunsicker

        Your belief rings to be absolutely true. Its a little hard to love someone else when you cant even love yourself. I think that the sub conscious reason why people are single that don’t want to be. They are on standby until they learn to love themselves.
        The last part is simply a theory of mine.=D
        I don’t think I love myself enough at this particular point in my life to where I can truly have anyone.=/

  10. This is absolutely beautiful and completely agree that we need to do this self reflection more often. These hard questions, at times, allows us to know the inner ME, and at times, it may be difficult to come face to face with that person in the mirror. Very well said.

    Thrifting Diva
    http://www.thriftingdiva.com

    Reply
  11. Great insight into the busy-ness of life. Kudos for being able to see through it!

    Reply
  12. I am a world changer!!! And so are you my dear ❀ (Also, I cannot express how happy I am that you are here, blogging, and sharing these thoughts with the world!!)

    Reply
  13. This is a great post! I like to think that deep down, I am a dreamer, listener, and giver. I love listening to people’s thoughts and problems and giving advice. I guess that’s why I’m majoring in psychology! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  14. Finding out who you are is important. It’s apart of growing as an individual.

    Reply
  15. Chris Hunsicker

    That’s so beautiful…Such a good write.Those words have the potential to touch any ones heart and soul.
    I’m not quite sure what I am yet to be honest..
    Being a mechanic I guess im a people helper. But I feel like I should be doing something bigger.

    Reply
  16. Loved this post! I have these feelings often, perfectly put!

    Reply
  17. What a heartfelt post, thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  18. This is such a meaningful post. I am sharing it because I think everyone could use this.

    Reply
  19. I love this! Thank you for this! I have been trying to eliminate all unnecessary things out of my live and live more simple. I realized that I took so many things for granted and I need to save things for special occasions. I have been going on more walks with my dog and it has given me time to breathe and reflex on my life and what is important. I realize that I care way too much about what people think of me and my feelings get hurt a lot when I am at work and if I feel left out. I am learning to just take deep breathes when I am feeling low and to love myself.

    Reply
    • I know JUST how you feel Lindsay! I am a very sensitive woman. It doesn’t take away from us also being strong and wonderful- but we get our feelings hurt easily. Walks are a great way to ease stress and remember to breathe and clear your head. I am glad that you found this post and hope it was inspiring for you ❀

      Reply
  20. I always say love number one first (you) then you can be good for everyone else. This us a great post

    Reply
  21. Beautiful. I’m still working on loving myself! Hopefully one day β™₯

    Reply
  22. Interesting… i’m not sure what I am! Definitely a bunch of different things at different times. Something to think about!
    http://www.thecrushworthy.com

    Reply
  23. Beautiful words. Although sometimes I can find it to be extremely difficult to find all the good in me, I am constantly trying to expose all the positive and remembering to love myself each and every day. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply
  24. Great post! Thanks for sharing, beautiful words

    Reply
  25. We definitely need to reflect and see who we are so others can value our worth. We deserve to be valued!

    Reply
  26. Really love this. I feel like I am a supporter. I like to talk people up and find their positives.

    Reply
  27. Great post!! πŸ™‚ I think I am always changing so it’s hard to say who I am. I think one thing that has not changed for a while is that one of my core values is honesty and authenticity..

    Reply
  28. It’s so easy to get caught up in what you do but not pay attention to all that you are doing.It’s so important to reflect πŸ™‚

    Reply
  29. Great post. I love how inspirational it is. I think I’m a dreamer.

    Reply
  30. This is lovely! I really needed to hear this today πŸ™‚

    Reply

Leave a Reply

