RSS Feed

A letter to a Stepfather.

Posted on

df2b1d0959cd0995665c77c48957e1ad

17 years, 6 months, and 10 days since you married my mother.
It’s crazy how time flies isnt it?
This isn’t a letter to relive all of our differences and struggles over the years,
but rather a notice of appreciation, love, and understanding.
You haven’t always felt that you got the credit that you truly deserved,
but I hope as I have grown that I have given you that.
We all love in different ways, some more vocal than others,
I know without a doubt that I am loved by you as if I were your own.
Sometimes I mistakenly took your constructive comments as insults,
but I know you have only always wanted the best for me, more than I even wanted for myself.
You have believed in me, and had faith in me, even if it was in silence.
I admire your drive and your intelligence,
even if your long days at work distanced us as I grew up.
I have put you through a lot of situations that were not easy to handle,
I was definitely a troubled teenager, that at times was not very easy to love.
You didn’t run, you stood on the side lines and supported me even through troubled times.
I found out I was pregnant with Jett at just 19 years of age,
I was terrified of what you would think of me.
You knew my life would be so different from that day forward,
but you have never judged me, only given advice, and loved Jett so much.
I catch you smiling and looking at him sometimes,
and I know you are proud of the Mother that I am, and the sweet boy I have raised.
Being a parent to another person’s child is far from easy, in fact at times it’s really hard,
But I am so glad that you chose us.

This is a letter to tell you without a doubt in the world- I have noticed all that you have been for me,
all that you have sacrificed and weathered for our family, and nothing has ever gone unnoticed.

CurtsLetter

From the bottom of my heart, THANK YOU.

I love you.

β™₯Britt

25 responses »

  1. Curtis DeCamara

    I love you too!! Wow, what a nice letter to wake up to today on my Birthday…and yes I am really proud of the person you have become and are continuing to be…can’t wait to see you and Jett tonight, sorry Keith has to work but I understand…love, me

    Reply
  2. Jeanne DeCamara

    That was quite a tribute and made his day, mine too. I am happy that you know now, maybe not 10 years ago that he loves you no matter what…. still does πŸ™‚ xoxo

    Reply
  3. what a beautiful letter, and so true family is more than blood

    Reply
  4. Love this!! Most of my ‘family’ are people that I don’t actually share blood with and I couldn’t be happier to have them in my life

    Reply
  5. Such a nice letter!! Family always comes first πŸ™‚

    Reply
  6. This is beautiful!! It is great to see that your step dad really took his role seriously and loved you as his own! Thank you for sharing this!

    Reply
  7. To dedicate such a heartfelt letter on your stepfather’s birthday was incredibly thoughtful. Happy birthday Curtis!

    Reply
  8. What a beautiful post! I just teared up.

    Reply
  9. What a beautiful letter β™₯ Stepparents are special!

    Reply
  10. You’re right, Family is more than blood. I love this letter. Should we all be lucky enough to have a “Curtis” in our lives.

    Reply
  11. Awe, this is so nice. What a sweet letter.

    Reply
  12. What a sweet letter, I’m glad you have him in your life.

    Reply
  13. This is such a gorgeous letter – I can see from both sides that it would be so hard to come in as a step parent to a family that already exists. Both for the children and the parent it wouldn’t be an easy ride. Plus we’re all pounded by Disney and classic stories that Step-family are evil!

    I love your family photos – your mum is SUCH a babe!

    Katie ❀

    Reply
  14. Aw, this is absolutely heartwarming! Beautifully written! πŸ™‚

    Reply
  15. Absolutely touching! How lucky are you both to have each other in your lives. So well written too!

    Reply
  16. Amen to that quote up top. You are the blessed one to have someone so loving in your life who wants to be in your life

    Reply
  17. awww this is so beautiful! does he read your blog?

    Reply
  18. This is a sweet letter. I too had a wonderful step-father and my husband now is a great step-father to my first son.

    Reply
  19. Lovely letter! You stepfather sounds like an amazing person. I hope he enjoyed the post πŸ™‚

    Reply
  20. Aww, he sounds like such a great guy. My stepmom came into my life when I was just 8 years old and she’s totally been there for me too. Of course we’ve had our ups and downs like you and your stepdad have, but we’re very lucky to have their in our lives, aren’t we?

    Cat
    http://oddlylovely.com

    Reply
  21. That is so sweet. I have a few stepdads, and I didn’t have that great of a relationship with them. My step-father-in-law sounds just like your step-dad does. He has been a huge blessing in my life and his love is just a real as if I were his real daughter. You are so blessed to have such a wonderful father!

    Reply
  22. What a beautiful sentiment in this letter, lovely!

    Reply
  23. Step dads are awesome! Great post, and gratitude for your step-papa!

    Reply
  24. I’m bawling lol! So touching! Happy you had him in your guys lives!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

